News - Academic Year 2011-2012

IMA at the Minnesota State Fair

On Saturday, Sept. 1 the Institute for Mathematics and its Applications will be at the U of M Exhibit Building (Dan Patch Avenue and Underwood Street) from 9 a.m.–9 p.m.

Math is the answer to understanding our world, making new discoveries, and addressing the challenges facing our society, our industries, and our planet. In this Institute for Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) exhibit there will be fun, hands-on activities for you to crack a code, play the infamous Traveling Salesman game, and more. Learn how the IMA is among the world's most influential math institutes and meet a few of the visiting mathematicians.

A variety of College of Science and Engineering exhibits will showcase the relevance of science, engineering, and mathematics to people's everyday lives at this year's Minnesota State Fair.

  Aug. 20, 2012

Miller and Post Awarded Best Paper

Emeritus Professor Willard Miller, Jr., and former Ph.D. student Sarah Post (University of Hawaii) were awarded a 2012 Journal of Physics A Best Paper Prize for their paper "Coupling constant metamorphosis and Nth-order symmetries in classical and quantum mechanics" coauthored with Ernest Kalnins (University of Waikato, New Zealand).

The two other best papers were titled "An exact formula for the statistics of the current in the TASEP with open boundaries" and "Y-system for scattering amplitudes"

  Aug. 20, 2012

SIAM Annual Meeting and Minisymposium

A minisymposium in honor of Emeritus Professor Walter Littman, in the area of control of PDEs, will be held as part of the SIAM annual meeting in Minneapolis, July 9-13, 2012. Speakers include Professors Peter Rejto, George Sell, and Emeritus Professor Hans Weinberger.

  May 11, 2012

Graduate Students Awarded NSF

Current graduate students John Goes, Ryan Goh, and Derek Olson have all been awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships. The Fellowships provide tuition and a generous stipend for three years of support. Another NSF grad fellowship went to Grant Remmen, an undergraduate honors student majoring in astrophysics, physics, and mathematics.


  April 4, 2012

Odlyzko Becomes Fellow of IACR

Professor Andrew Odlyzko has been elected a Fellow of the IACR, the worldwide society for crypto research, which has fewer than 5% of its membership as fellows. IACR's selection of fellows is based on "technical contributions and distinguished service to the cryptologic community". Prof. Odlyzko's research interests include computational complexity, cryptography, number theory, combinatorics, coding theory, analysis, probability theory, ecommerce, and economics of data networks.

  March 23, 2012

Remmen Awarded Hertz Fellowship

Grant Remmen, a senior in the University Honors Program, has been awarded a prestigious Hertz Fellowship to support his future graduate studies. Considered to be the nation’s most prestigious and generous support for graduate education in applied sciences and engineering, the Hertz Fellowship is valued at more than $250,000 per student, with support lasting up to five years. Grant will graduate summa cum laude from the College of Science and Engineering this spring with majors in astrophysics, physics, and mathematics. More details about Mr. Remmen's award are on the CSE website.

  March 23, 2012

Akhmedov Awarded Sloan Research Fellowship

Assistant Professor Anar Akhmedov, has been awarded a prestigious Sloan Research Fellowship for 2012-2014. The Sloan award is "... to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise." Anar's research specialty is low dimensional topology and symplectic topology.

  Feb. 20, 2012

Irene Fonseca to be SIAM President

Prof. Irene Fonseca, the Mellon College of Science Professor of Mathematics at Carnegie Mellon University, has been elected president of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). Prof. Fonseca obtained her Ph.D. degree in Mathematics at the University of Minnesota in 1985 under the direction of Prof. David Kinderlehrer, now also at Carnegie Mellon University. SIAM is the leading professional organization for applied and industrial mathematics, with over 13,000 individual members and almost 500 institutional members worldwide.

  Dec. 20, 2011

Bobkov and Voronov named Simons Fellows

Professors Sergey Bobkov and Alexander Voronov were both named Simons Fellows in Mathematics for 2012-13 by the Simons Foundation.

Prof. Bobkov's project is on "High Dimensional Phenomena and Information Theory", and will be undertaken at Yale University, University Paris 6, University of Bielefeld, and Tel Aviv University.

Prof. Voronov's project is on "Categorical Foundations of Topological Quantum Field Theory", and will be pursued at the Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe at the University of Tokyo, where he has the position of Visiting Senior Scientist, and IHES, France.

  Dec. 15, 2011

Odlyzko Elected Vice-President of AMS

Prof. Andrew Odlyzko was elected to be Vice-President of the American Mathematical Society, beginning in 2012 for a three year term. The American Mathematical Society, founded in 1888 to further the interests of mathematical research and scholarship, has over 30,000 individuals and 570 institutional members in the U.S. and around the world.

  Nov. 22, 2011

David Storvick

Emeritus Professor David Storvick passed away in Minneapolis on November 5. David received his Ph.D. degree in mathematics from the University of Michigan in 1956 and came to the University of Minnesota in 1957. He was promoted to full professor in 1966, and served as Associate Head of the School of Mathematics from 1964-70, Associate Dean of the Institute of Technology from 1979-83 and 1993-94, and as Acting Director of the Gray Fresh Water Biological Institute from 1989-90. He retired in 2004. David will be missed by his colleagues, students, friends, and family.

  Nov. 8, 2011

Garcia Receives Scholarship from AMS

Xavier Eduardo Garcia received the Trjitzinsky Scholarship Award from the American Mathematical Society (AMS). Xavier moved to the U.S. from Colombia when he was twelve years old. He is a mathematics major in the University Honors Program, serves as a tutor in the Multicultural Center for Academic Excellence on campus, and intends to pursue a Ph.D. in mathematics.

  Nov. 8, 2011

Welcome New Faculty

The School of Mathematics welcomes three new faculty members.

Assistant Professor Jasmine Foo received her PhD from Brown University, and was a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University before coming to Minnesota. Her research interests are in mathematical biology and applied mathematics.

Assistant Professor Hoai Minh Nguyen received his PhD from the University of Paris 6, France, and was a Courant Instructor at New York University before coming to Minnesota. His research interests include partial differential equations, the calculus of variations, and applied mathematics.

Associate Professor Svitlana Mayboroda received her PhD from the University of Missouri, and was on the faculty at Purdue University before coming to Minnesota. Her research interests are in analysis and partial differential equations.

  Sept. 15, 2011